Bringing superfast broadband to over 96% of homes and businesses in Oxfordshire by the end of 2018

Open Market Review – Request for Information

Published: 
14 November 2017

***OPEN MARKET REVIEW NOW CLOSED***

Thank you for your interest in the Open Market Review (OMR), which ran from 14th November – 12th December 2017. The review was run by Oxfordshire County Council to assess broadband coverage by commercial providers and has now closed. In mid-January 2018, Oxfordshire County Council will publish a public consultation on our Consultations portal to show an aggregated view of the results. The public consultation will remain open for 30 days and responses will be welcome; details on how to respond will also be provided at that time. 

 

Background:

Oxfordshire County Council (OCC) through its Better Broadband for Oxfordshire Programme, strives to provide the best broadband connectivity possible across the county of Oxfordshire. The programme covered the whole geography of Oxfordshire between January 2014 and December 2015. Since this latter date, the district of West Oxfordshire has pursued a separate intervention programme, and Better Broadband has not included coverage in the district without explicit request from West Oxfordshire District Council (WODC). In November 2017, WODC announced the signing of a contract for additional intervention coverage within the district. For the purpose of this OMR, as there are remaining premises which are not conclusively planned for NGA in West Oxfordshire, responses to this OMR should include NGA coverage installed, or planned in West Oxfordshire. The overarching aspiration of the Better Broadband for Oxfordshire Programme is to deliver superfast broadband to at least 97% of our intervention area by December 2019.

Download the open market review (OMR) (pdf format, 900Kb)

 

Purpose of the OMR:

We are now commencing an OMR to establish existing and planned (next 3 years) commercial coverage of broadband services across the Better Broadband for Oxfordshire Programme Area by all existing and any prospective, NGA broadband infrastructure providers. This OMR is intended as a precursor to a formal public consultation document. The UK applies a best practice process that promotes the use of both an OMR and a Public Consultation, the latter being conducted in a manner consistent with the requirements of the Broadband Guidelines.2 We consider that early market engagement at this stage is an essential and extremely important part of our early market research The results of the OMR will assist us with understanding the broadband NGA infrastructure already in place and where there are plans for investment in such infrastructure in the coming three years as a significant step in the design of the intervention area to be targeted by the new contract. Once we have defined these Intervention Areas from the OMR, we will be conducting a minimum one month State aid public consultation on our proposed Intervention Areas. We propose to launch our ITT in the financial year [2017/18].

 

Title:                Open Market Review

Opened:           Tuesday 14th November 2017

Closed:            Tuesday 12th December 2017

Results:            Will be published by mid-January 2018 - public consultation open 30 days

 

Thank you in anticipation of your help with completing our Open Market Review. If you would like more information about the Better Broadband for Oxfordshire Programme please visit our website or contact us: 

Website: www.betterbroadbandoxfordshire.org.uk

Email: broadband@oxfordshire.gov.uk

Post: Better Broadband for Oxfordshire Team, Programme Management Office, Oxfordshire County Council, County Hall, New Road, Oxford OX1 1ND

Tags: 
news